Posted on

Rip and Roar

tiresLast week I went along to visit my brother, who is a reputable mechanic at an auto repair shop downtown. I told him that I desired to get some new tires and rims placed on my vehicle. After discussing some options and what he wished to see on my car, I brought him back to earth. I reminded him how much cash I made and I also necessary to find something in my price range that was a good product. He rolled his eyes and explained that I always say that. I told him that I’m being frugal for when I’m rich one day. After laughing for a minute and telling me to remember him and all “the little people”, we continued investigating my options.

Finally he mentioned he thought BFGoodrich tires is a sensible choice for my vehicle. I asked him how safe these were. I was concerned because I previously purchased a make of tires that had a known problem that caused them to blow out a lot at high speeds. I didn’t recognize that the tires were defective until after I bought them so they were placed on my vehicle. I ended up having a small accident as a result of a blown out tire which led me to discover more about the defect. He assured me that they are great tires and had a good reputation among mechanics. I told him I’d opt for his recommendation. Now we had to choose newer and more effective rims to complement the tires.

Needless to say my brother loves to be flashy and demonstrated all of the rims which he desired to see on my car. I was polite and nodded and told him these were nice. After a couple of minutes he realized I wasn’t into the rims and demonstrated something more affordable. We spent about twenty minutes going back and forth with what would match the tires along with the interior. Then we got side tracked discussing me possibly repainting the surface and how well that could look with certain rims. Finally, I made my decision and purchased them.

My brother informed me it would take him a few hours to fit the new BFGoodrich tires and rims on my vehicle. That was fine by me so I went to the food court at the mall across the street from his auto shop. I was hungry and so I went ahead and got lunch and spent the remainder of the time window shopping and making mental notes about next year’s holiday gifts. About 90 minutes later my brother texted me and told me my car was ready. I couldn’t wait to view the new tires and rims!  Visit here for additional information about tires.

A couple of minutes later I returned across the street and walked into the auto shop. My brother had this sly smile on his face. I asked him what he did to my car. When we were growing up the sly smile meant he did something unusual. He told me I’d love it. So he led me back to my car and then to my surprise it looked great. He put another collection of rims on my car. I liked them and he did too but they were a little more than I could afford. They looked really good with all the tires though, so he used his employee discount and brought the cost down for me. I thanked him, paid for everything and was off to my next errand.

Leave a comment